Chicken Tagine

by d a r c and h

Sophie Conran For Portmeirion Tagine �50 (1)I saw this Sophie Conran Tagine for Portmeirion and I just had to throw my hand to morrocan dining. Failing to find a recipe I liked the look of online (not enough ingredients that I had in my cupboards) I mocked up my own tagine. I then force fed it to a friend and she smiled and made all the right noises so I guess it wasn’t too bad?

4 chicken thigh fillets, 1, onion, 3 small sweet potatoes cut into chunks, 1 tin chickpeas, 1 carton passata, 1 chopped pepper, 12 dried apricots halved, 3 cloves crushed garlic, 1tbsp fresh chopped coriander, half a lemon juice, half tsp cinnamon, 1 tbsp rose harissa paste, 1 cup of cous cous, natural yoghurt

Chop the onion into wedges and fry gentle with a little olive oil, the garlic, lemon juice and the chicken thigh fillets. Add the passata, sweet potato, pepper, apricots, half the coriander, the harissa and around a 100ml of water. Cover and let simmer gently for 40 mins stirring occasionally to ensure nothing is stuck to the bottom. You may need to add a little more water to ensure it doesn’t become too dry. Lots of people cook tagines for hours, this way the meat becomes tender and flavoursome, however I don’t have time for that so I just hashed it up.

To cook the cous cous add 1 cup of water to 1 cup of cous cous gently heat for a few seconds and then leave for a minute. Add seasoning and a generous knob of butter then fluff up with fork.

Serve with yoghurt and coriander for garnish.

